23rd August

England cricket posted the then highest team score of 903 runs against Australia. Len Hutton scored the then world record 364 runs. The match ended with Australia suffering worst ever defeat by an inns and 579 runs in test history.

On This Day in 1911 Kent keeper Frederick Huish affected record nine stumpings in a match an FC record against Surrey

1984 Arvinda De Silva made his test debut. He remains the first Sri Lankan and the only fourth player to score a double century in his last test.

A Sandham (ENG)325West IndiesKingston1930
WH Ponsford (AUS)266EnglandThe Oval1934
SM Nurse (WI)258New ZealandChristchurch1969
PA de Silva (SL)206BangladeshColombo (PSS)2002
JN Gillespie (AUS)201*BangladeshChattogram2006

Players to score double century in last test
LONDON – AUGUST 23 : Aravinda de Silva batting in Sri Lanka’s first Test at Lord’s, 1st Test England v Sri Lanka Lord’s August 1984 (Photo by Patrick Eagar/Popperfoto via Getty Images)

2002 Sachin Tendulkar went past Sir Don Bradman tally of 29 test centuries. He scored 193 runs and put on 150 runs stand with Dravid who himself scored splendid 148. Then 249 runs stand with skipper Ganguly as India piled up 628 runs as Sourav men won the test by an inns and 46 runs.

LEEDS, UNITED KINGDOM: England players (L to R) Alex Tudor, Andrew Caddick, Alec Stewart and Andrew Flintoff applaud Sachin Tendulkar after a magnificent inning of 193 on the third day of the third test at at Headingley in Leeds 24 August 2002. AFP PHOTO BY PAUL BARKER (Photo credit should read PAUL BARKER/AFP via Getty Images)

2014 Warwickshire held their nerves to win NatWest t20 Blast championship by 4 runs after Flintoff scintillating 8 balls 20 runs. It was a reunion for Ian Bell, James Anderson, and Andrew Flintoff.

England consolation win in 1993 Ashes series as Australia lifts the trophy 4-1. This was also the last time Brian Johnston last stint for test match special.

The Oval, same ground contrasting results in Ashes test.

  • In 2009 Australia lost the final test in 4 days by 197 runs. Ricky Ponting lost his second Ashes as skipper after Billy Murdoch. (England won Ashes by 2-1)
  • In 2015 Michael Clarke in his last match lead Australia to a consolation victory by an innings and 46 runs after the series result was decided in the fourth test. This final test also lasted 4 days. (England won Ashes by 3-2)

By Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *